hero

Welcome to my portfolio

... even if for now it's more of an improved CV

I'm Aloys 27 years old, I'm currently working as an Cloud Support Engineer in France ๐Ÿ‡ซ๐Ÿ‡ท for an international IT company (Platform.sh (opens new window)).


# Spoken Languages

Traveling and getting to know new cultures is an activity I value a lot. So far I lived more than ten years abroad (Poland since 7 months, Germany for 11 years and France for the rest). Moving to a new country and the required adaptability and flexibility have become a second nature for me. Spending time abroad allowed me to become more open-minded and adaptable. In the upcoming years I'd like to move to Canada , New Zealand or Australia to further improve those skills and challenge myself even further

  • ๐Ÿ‡ซ๐Ÿ‡ท French (Native speaker)
  • ๐Ÿ‡ฉ๐Ÿ‡ช German (C2)
  • ๐Ÿ‡ฌ๐Ÿ‡ง English (C1)
  • ๐Ÿ‡ต๐Ÿ‡ฑ Polish (Beginner)


# Public Projects

Stay tuned, more will follow

trolologuy's 2020 GitHub chart

An overview of my GitHub contribution graph


# XP / Technical Skills

You can find here a short summary of my work experience. Letโ€™s talk about it. Iโ€™ll be really happy to give you more details and answer your questions.

As I started to study development, Iโ€™ve discovered how interested I was in System Administration / DevOps / SRE and Project Management and decided to go along with that.

  • ๐ŸŒ 2020 - current position : "Cloud Support Engineer" working from the Homeoffice
  • ๐Ÿ‡ต๐Ÿ‡ฑ 2019 - 2020: "Operations Coordinator" in Poland.
  • ๐Ÿ‡ฉ๐Ÿ‡ช 2018 - 2019: "Web Support agent" in Germany.
  • ๐Ÿ‡ฉ๐Ÿ‡ช 2016 - 2018: German Apprenticeship as "Computer Science Expert with focus on System Integration".
  • ๐Ÿ‡ซ๐Ÿ‡ท 2012 - 2014: Computer science studies in Epitech Strasbourg + 6 month Internship


# Short summary of my SysAdmin Experience

During my apprenticeship I was the only Sysadmin in the company, setting up maintaining and securing servers and services but also managing users.

Amongst other tools and services, I deployed Rocket.Chat () for the communication between the company and external contributors (a few hundred users in total), different mail servers (courier IMAP โ†’ Dovecot) and Webhosting Services (Confixx โ†’ Plesk migration, Apache / Nginx), ... I automated tasks using Bash and several CLI tools (IMAPsync, mjml.io ...).

In the middle of my apprenticeship, I decided to change the company to join OVHcloud. My final project for the apprenticeship was setting up a clustered ELK-Stack (Elasticsearch, Kibana, Logstash) to monitor a fleet of machines and gain more insights about the performance of those machines.


According to Pluralsight IQ (opens new window):

devops linux administration python

I've been the administrator of a gรฎte in Alsace (France) for more then 10 years, tasks included:

  • setting up the wifi: design the deployment, cable management, setting up the Access Points (Unifi), Setting up the Firewall (pfsense) and the VLANs, ...
  • managing the backup and data storage strategy on the NAS (Synology)
  • setting up the computers and managing them (, , ) using tools such as JAMF, teamviewer, ...
  • creating, translating and maintaining the website (based on wordpress)

System Administration or Project Management are directions in which I would like to pursue my career. Having some experience in different fields allows me to have a good insight and a more in-depth understanding of underlying issues that can be faced when managing a project, or to spot difficulties in communication between techies and management and address them.


# Programming / Scripting languages and technologies

I chose to display an estimation of the real time i spent using the different technologies I encountered, because I think that the time spent working with a specific technology is probably a better metric than a progress bar (and it's more accurate). Next to it is how I would assess my skills

See the details by clicking here
Technology Years of experience Self-assesment
git 6 years โ˜…โ˜…โ˜…โ˜…โ˜†
macOS 12 years โ˜…โ˜…โ˜…โ˜…โ˜†
windows 8 years โ˜…โ˜…โ˜…โ˜†โ˜†
linux 8 years โ˜…โ˜…โ˜…โ˜†โ˜†
Bash 5 years โ˜…โ˜…โ˜…โ˜†โ˜†
Python 1 year โ˜…โ˜…โ˜…โ˜†โ˜†
Docker 1 year โ˜…โ˜…โ˜…โ˜†โ˜†
jira 3 years โ˜…โ˜…โ˜…โ˜†โ˜†
confluence 3 years โ˜…โ˜…โ˜…โ˜†โ˜†
C 2 years โ˜…โ˜…โ˜…โ˜†โ˜†
Plesk 2 years โ˜…โ˜…โ˜…โ˜†โ˜†
pfsense 2 years โ˜…โ˜…โ˜…โ˜†โ˜†
MySQL 2 years โ˜…โ˜…โ˜…โ˜†โ˜†
ansible 1 year โ˜…โ˜…โ˜†โ˜†โ˜†
proxmox 1 year โ˜…โ˜…โ˜†โ˜†โ˜†
grafana 1 year โ˜…โ˜…โ˜†โ˜†โ˜†
ELK Stack 1 year โ˜…โ˜…โ˜†โ˜†โ˜†
C++ 2 years โ˜…โ˜…โ˜†โ˜†โ˜†
javascript 1 year โ˜…โ˜†โ˜†โ˜†โ˜†
node.js 1 year โ˜…โ˜†โ˜†โ˜†โ˜†
MongoDB 1 year โ˜…โ˜†โ˜†โ˜†โ˜†
Java 2 years โ˜…โ˜†โ˜†โ˜†โ˜†


# Hobbies

I enjoy practising sports (skiing, golf and downhill mountainbiking ๐Ÿšฒ), reading thrillers ๐Ÿ“š and listening to music. Both reading and sports give me the focus needed to maintain a good work/life balance required when working in IT. Globally speaking I'm always keen to learn and on finding out how to further improve my skills and workflows be it when doing my hobbies or working.


# Contact